Two French Scientists become member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences


In 2013, two French Scientists have become a new member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences :

  • Berestycki, Henri, Research Professor, Director of Mathematics Division, École des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales, and Associate Professor at the University of Chicago.
  • Haroche, Serge, Professor and Chair in Quantum Physics, Collège de France; Professor, École Normale Superieure, Paris, France. He’s the latest French person who received a Nobel Prize : Nobel Prize in Physics in 2012. Prize motivation: "for ground-breaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum systems".

Congratulations !

Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences is an independent policy research center that conducts multidisciplinary studies of complex and emerging problems. The Academy’s elected members are leaders in the academic disciplines, the arts, business, and public affairs. With a current membership of 4,000 American Fellows and 600 Foreign Honorary Members, the Academy has four major goals:

  • Promoting service and study through analysis of critical social and intellectual issues and the development of practical policy alternatives;
  • Fostering public engagement and the exchange of ideas with meetings, conferences, and symposia bringing diverse perspectives to the examination of issues of common concern;
  • Mentoring a new generation of scholars and thinkers through the Visiting Scholars Program and Hellman Fellowship Program;
  • Honoring excellence by electing to membership men and women in a broad range of disciplines and professions. Click here to learn about our new members.

The Academy’s headquarters are in Cambridge, Massachusetts. With its geographically diverse membership, it conducts activities in this country and abroad.

The Academy’s greatest strength lies in the leadership of its active members and wide range of expertise they bring to its studies and publications. The Academy membership encompasses over 4,000 Fellows and 600 Foreign Honorary Members and reflects the full range of disciplines: mathematics, the physical and biological sciences, medicine, the social sciences and humanities, business, government, public affairs, and the arts. Among its Fellows are more than 250 Nobel Prize laureates and 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.

Last modified on 09/05/2013

top of the page