COVID-19 - City of Chicago | Emergency Travel Order


Last update August 4, 2020

Puerto Rico was added to Chicago’s emergency travel order on Tuesday, August 4th, 2020, requiring anyone visiting or returning to the city from one of 22 U.S. States to self-quarantine for 14 days.

List of states as of August 4, 2020:

Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Utah. The States of Missouri, Wisconsin, Nebraska, and North Dakota were added to the list on July 28, 2020.
Puerto Rico (added on August 4, 2020.)

States are added to the list if they have a “case rate greater than 15 new COVID-19 cases per 100,000 resident population, per day, over a 7-day rolling average,” according to the Chicago Department of Public Health.

The list will be updated every Tuesday and go into effect the following Friday at 12:01 a.m.

More information and Frequently Asked Questions at

Last modified on 04/08/2020

top of the page